Wednesday May 09, 2018
The “BP Mitchell” Rockets’ two representatives enjoyed conflicting fortunes in Wednesday night’s Premiership Riders’ Individual Championship at Poole.

Two early race wins ensured that Chris Harris marched into the semi-final race-off with 9 points. There his luck deserted him as he hit engine problems at the start line. Bomber jumped on his second bike at minimal notice, but found the engine too strong and he finished at the rear of the race for a still more than respectable final position of 6th overall.

Rye House captain Scott Nicholls, meanwhile, battled through his first three races suffering from a migraine before sitting out his final two outings. Although on the pace, he managed just a single point for his efforts.

World Champion Jason Doyle laid down a marker for Saturday’s opening round of the 2018 Grand Prix series by winning the title. The Australian powered to 13 points from his programmed heats before taking the winner-takes-all Grand Final ahead of Swindon’s Troy Batchelor and Hans Andersen of Leicester, with Poole’s Brady Kurtz finishing 4th.


QUALIFYING SCORES: Troy Batchelor 13, Jason Doyle 13 (both straight to Grand Final), Brady Kurtz 11, Hans Andersen 10, Chris Harris 9, Jacob Thorssell 9 (qualified for Semi-Final), Max Fricke 9, Ty Proctor 7, Nick Morris 7, Charles Wright 7, Sam Masters 6, Niels-Kristian Iversen 6, Adam Ellis 5, Josh Grajczonek 4, Kyle Newman 3, Scott Nicholls 1.

SEMI-FINAL: Kurtz, Andersen, Thorssell, Harris.

GRAND FINAL: Doyle, Batchelor, Andersen, Kurtz.