Saturday September 16, 2017
Following on from the BMR Rockets’ near miss in qualifying for the Play-Offs, representatives Scott Nicholls and Chris Harris came even closer to making the shoot-out for Saturday’s SGB Premiership Riders’ Championship at Belle Vue’s National Speedway Stadium in Manchester.

Both finished on 8 points from their programmed five rides, only to be edged out of a semi-final berth on countback by Wolverhampton’s Jacob Thorsell, as the Swede had gained two race wins and a second place as opposed to Harris’ two wins and two thirds and Nicholls’ lone heat success.

For Harris, it was a case of two late a run, as he took the chequered flag in his final two races after managing just two thirds from his first three starts and was made to pay the price for clipping the fence in Heat 8, an error which allowed Josh Auty to nip inside him for second spot.

Nicholls, meanwhile, was left to rue his near miss against Craig Cook for second place in Heat 12, and an even closer finish when pitched against Nick Morris and Thorsell at the head of Heat 20.

Grand Prix star Freddie Lindgren won the championship, successfully defending the title he lifted last year as he finished ahead of Max Fricke and British Champion Craig Cook in the Grand Final, with Thorsell fourth.

QUALIFYING SCORES (After 20 heats): Craig Cook 13, Freddie Lindgren 11 (straight to Grand Final), Hans Andersen 10, Josh Grajczonek 9, Max Fricke 9, Jacob Thorssell 8 (qualified for Semi-Final), Scott Nicholls 8, Nick Morris 8, Chris Harris 8, Josh Auty 8, Jason Doyle 7, Brady Kurtz 7, Kim Nilsson 5, Richard Lawson 5, Danny King 2, Thomas Jorgensen 2, Rob Shuttleworth 0 (reserve).

SEMI-FINAL: Thorssell, Fricke, Andersen, Grajczonek

GRAND FINAL: Lindgren, Fricke, Cook, Thorssell